Monday, December 23, 2013

XLR8R 30 Best Releases of 2013

In the wonderful accelerating electronic dreamscape of XLR8R, Jon Hopkins' Immunity is the king of 2013. #2 goes to Special Request, #3 to Oneohtrix Point Never and Top 10 completes with Floorplan, DJ Koze, FaltyDL, Tim Hecker, Factory Floor, Boards of Canada and Graze. Why "release" and not "albums"? That's the official explanation: "for the sake of clarity, we should explain that anything with two or more original songs was considered a release. Although most of our choices are albums, a handful of EPs made the cut. We also decided to include mix CDs in this category". Go to XLR8R to get more info about each release (chart is in two parts), and/or listen to it in the playlists below (and there is the XLR8R Best 50 Tracks playlist, too!).


Complete series of Spotirama end-of-2013 playlists (charts by Amazon, BuzzFeed, Decibel, Guardian, Ibero 90.9, Indiewire, Jazzwise, Kerrang!, Les Inrockuptibles, Me Hace Ruido, Metal Hammer, Mojo, NPR, Panamérika, Paste, Pitchfork, PopMatters, Pretty Much Amazing, Q, The Quietus, Renowned for Sound, Revolver, Rolling Stone, Rough Trade, Stereogum, Uncut, The Wire, XLR8R, Zane Lowe)

(full albums)

(3 songs each release)

Stay in touch with the new playlists!
Follow Spotirama on Twitter and Facebook

Full list

Strikethrough releases (9/30) are not available on Spotify. Some releases may be not available in all countries.

1. Jon Hopkins - Immunity
2. Special Request - Soul Music
3. Oneohtrix Point Never - R Plus Seven
4. Floorplan - Paradise
5. DJ Koze - Amygdala
6. FaltyDL - Hardcourage
7. Tim Hecker - Virgins
8. Factory Floor - Factory Floor
9. Boards of Canada - Tomorrow's Harvest
10. Graze - Graze EP
11. Gold Panda - Half of Where You Live
12. Trus'me - Treat Me Right
13. Livity Sound - Livity Sound
14. John Roberts - Fences
15. Laurel Halo - Behind the Green Door
16. Haxan Cloak - Excavation
17. The Knife - Shaking the Habitual
18. John Talabot - DJ Kicks
19. Akkord - Akkord
20. Blondes - Swisher
21. Logos - Cold Mission
22. Kyle Hall - The Boat Party
23. Bobby Browser - Still Browsing
24. Ben UFO - Fabriclive 67
25. Shigeto - No Better Time Than Now
26. Autre Ne Veut - Anxiety
27. Sandwell District - Fabric 69
28. Dauwd - Heat Division
29. Locked Groove - Heritage
30. The Cyclist - Bones In Motion

No comments:

Post a Comment