Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Pitchfork Best New Music 2011 (february)

Left: Toro. Right: Moi. 

Pitchfork Best New Music 2010 (Spotify link) has been one of the most subscribed Spotirama playlists so far. Now it's time to renew it with albums published in 2011. Main rule remains the same: I will include in it only albums that get at least a 8.0 score in Pitchfork Best New Music page. The news is that I will double the playlist: you can choose a lite version, similar to the 2010 one (three tracks each album), or a full-albums version. 

A lot of new entries, in february! From PJ Harvey to James Blake, from Cut Copy to Toro Y Moi, from Tim Hecker to Nicolas Jaar, 2011 music is taking off. Enjoy!

Source: Pitchfork Best New Music
Albums available on Spotify: 7 (out of 9), 77,77%

(links lead to Pitchfork reviews,  Pitchfork-like votes are Pitchfork votes, new entries/additions are in bold)

Dye It Blonde (Smith Westerns, 8.4)
Kaputt (Destroyer, 8.8)
Zonoscope (Cut Copy, 8.6)

James Blake (James Blake, 9.0)
Let England Shake (PJ Harvey, 8.8)
Space Is Only Noise (Nicolas Jaar, 8.4)
Ravedeath, 1972 (Tim Hecker, 8.6)
The Magic Place (Julianna Barwick, 8.5)
Underneath the Pine (Toro Y Moi, 8.4)

Listen to it on Spotify:
lite (3 tracks each album): HTTP, URI. (SR0576)
mammoth (full albums): HTTP, URI. (SR0577)

Previously about Pitchfork:
Top 100 Tracks of 2010
Top 50 Albums of 2010
Top 200 Tracks of the 1990s
Top 100 Albums of the 1980s
The Pitchfork 500
(and more)

No comments:

Post a Comment